2015 Student Council Election Results

By MARK DISPIGNA – After they recited two-minute long speeches, candidates anxiously waited to hear their names called over the loudspeaker on June 4. At the end of the day, members of the rising sophomore, junior and senior class councils were announced. Overall, seven new representatives were elected throughout the different councils.

While the rising junior and senior elections were held during DEAR time in the cafeteria and room 107, respectively, the rising sophomores held speeches after lunch in the cafeteria.
Freshman Ebenezer Shim of Spring Lake Heights was elected as next year’s sophomore class president.

“I was so happily surprised when I heard that I had won,” Shim said. “We’re already working on getting the majority of our class involved when it comes to CHS events, like Color Wars and the spirit weeks.”

Freshman and newly-elected Council Member Christina Alfano of Middletown said she already started thinking about Winter Ball, which the sophomore class hosts every year.

“My biggest idea is to make the dance a more class-involved effort. The council would hold a meeting specifically for students to pitch ideas, then we could decide from there,” Alfano said.

The Class of 2018 council also consists of Vice President Jackie Geller of Manalapan and Council Members Matthew Avena of Middletown and Maura DeRose of Belford.

Candidates for the Class of 2017 received emails from adviser and fitness teacher Virginia Clevenger before the end of lunch that announced the new council. These results were also announced over the loudspeaker at the end of the day.

In a tie for first place, Elizabeth De Furia of Manalapan and Sarah Lang of Monmouth Beach were named co-presidents. Sophomores Kathryn Willis of Tinton Falls, Catherine Escueta of Eatontown and Sarah Lynch of Interlaken make up the council.

“It feels awesome, and I look forward to having Elizabeth to work and share the responsibility with,” Lang said.

The rising senior council consists of President Sallie Haas of Deal, Vice President Mithu Sankar of Manalapan and Council Members Cayla Harris of Manalapan, Johnny Callaghan of Wall and Sarah Takash of Brielle.

Junior Darcy Darbin of Middletown said she is content with the new class council.
“I am definitely happy about the results,” Darbin said. “I know all the council people are competent and know what they’re doing.”