Students elect new SGA members



Alumnus Liam Marshall of Sea Girt giving his SGA speech in 2018.

Nicole Sestito

On Tuesday, May 15, the Student Government Association (SGA) candidates gave their speeches and students casted their votes.

Two executive positions and three council members were announced via email to the school at the end of the day. Junior Liam Marshall of Sea Girt won the executive election for SGA president. Junior Emma Hecht of Wall was elected as vice president. Sophomores Liam Jamolod of Howell, Evan Kuo of Tinton Falls, and Dane Tedder of Ocean were all elected onto the council.

In the days leading up to the election, candidates campaigned by giving out food, pens, flyers and more to promote themselves.

Marshall said he enjoyed campaigning for the SGA elections.

“The campaigning process was a lot of fun because I got to meet a lot of people that I had never known before,” Marshall said, “I liked handing things out to people, seeing people smile, and just being really happy.”

The candidates gave speeches during second period on Tuesday in the cafeteria. All freshmen, sophomores and juniors attended. Candidates were allotted two minutes for their speeches.

Students chose between 12 candidates, with eight running for council and four for executive.

Sophomore Riley Rademacher of Wall, who voted on Tuesday, said, “Everyone’s speeches were so great. I didn’t know who to choose, but seeing the results I am completely confident in every single one of them.”

The newly elected SGA will look after all clubs and manage the calendar of school events, including Spirit Weeks and Color Wars.