CCC holds council elections


Alyssa Rasp

Junior Sydney Karlin of Matawan gives her speech at CCC elections. Karlin, the club’s new President, was one of seven students running for the six council positions.

Michael Rau

The Cultural Communications Club (CCC) held their annual elections for new board members on Tuesday, May 15. Six members of the CCC were elected to serve on the 2018-2019 council.

The president of the club will be junior Sydney Karlin of Matawan, vice president will be junior Sebrina Gao of Freehold and secretary will be sophomore Julia Rocco of Marlboro. The event coordinator will be sophomore Grace Quackenbush of Wall and the fundraising coordinators will be sophomore Adriana Poznanski of Middletown and junior Michael Topper of Ocean.

Outgoing CCC President and senior Veronica Yaron of Little Silver said she is confident in next year’s council.

“I’m incredibly happy. I’m incredibly proud of everybody,” Yaron said. “I know the new council will do a fantastic job.”

Karlin served on this year’s CCC council and said she’s excited to take on the role of president.

“I think there’s going to be a lot less stress planning events,” Karlin said. “I know how to work with other people in council. It’s a lot easier to pitch ideas.”

Rocco said she has several plans for the upcoming school year as a council member.

“Next year, I hope to get more people involved and work with more organizations,” Rocco said. “I’d love to start new projects, especially ones that make people happy and brighten their day.”